Yasmeen Turayhi
3 min readSep 7, 2021

I recently learned that over 82% of Americans want to write a book, but less than 1% of Americans actually finish and publish a book. There are simply so many critics and consumers in comparison to creators, and let me let you in on a secret: being a creator is WAY more fun. And it’s simply because you get to learn most about yourself in the process of creation.

Socrates said “The unexamined life is not worth living”, and writing a book is like a fast lane to exploring all the unexamined parts of yourself: you get to learn about what makes you fearful, how you think about and articulate yourself about a subject, all your neurosis about what is “good enough”, and how you react to challenges. I think the most rewarding part about writing a book is not the writing itself, nor is it about the actual process of publishing or marketing the book. It is about who you become in the process, and the confidence you gain in finishing something. Something that so many people in the country desperately want to do.

Being a creator is long term joy and innate satisfaction while consumption and criticism is stimulation and a short term high.

About 4 years ago in 2018, I wrote and then published a book on a subject that almost no one had written about. When I searched on Amazon for “product marketing books” I found books on general marketing, which often had little or nothing to do with this very different and important subject in the world of shipping a product to market.

In 2020, I decided to use my extra time indoors to write a second companion book to my first book about product marketing, which included 50 key lessons for marketers based largely on my experience of shipping 200 + products. I just released it this summer in 2021, with great success.

I learned a lot after writing my first book, and collected a number of data points about what worked — and what didn’t work.

Because so many friends have asked me how I’ve been able to finish two books in a handful of years, I’ve decided to create a 5 week course that will walk you through all the steps towards writing and finishing your book. As a Go-To-Market expert, I’ve combined my skill sets in product marketing, writing, and operations in an easy to digest manner.

You can sign up here. We start on Monday October 18th, and will be meeting once a week for 5 weeks.

We’ll be spending a lot of time on the tactics of writing and finishing your book. While I can provide the fundamental skills and frameworks needed to help you finish your book, we’re also going to spend some time talking about mindset. Mindset is the last piece that so many people get stuck on.

So join me in this 4 week course, for 2 hours of discussions each week, where I will be giving you some homework and prompts to think about.

Whether you’ve written a book, and haven’t’ finished it, or whether you need a catalyst to just get started — this course is for you.

AGENDA

1. Week 1: What is the book you want to write? Fiction, Non-fiction? Why are you interested in telling this story?

2. Week 2: Creating a Personal Brand & Online Presence & Creating a writing plan and publishing plan

3. Week 3: Audience & Distribution & Channel Strategy

4. Week 4: Budgeting & Cost Distribution & Channel Strategy

5. Week 5: Uploading to Amazon & Mindset

If you liked this article and want more, please give me a clap! If you’d like to learn more about Product Marketing, stay in touch and subscribe.

I also wrote the book “Product Marketing Debunked. The Essential Go-To-Market Guide” which you can purchase on Amazon.

My latest book, The Launch: A Product Marketer’s Guide, is now available on Amazon. In this book, I will guide you some of the most critical questions you should be asking on your road to launch.

Yasmeen Turayhi

Product Marketing Executive - Award Winning Film Writer — Podcaster. Obsessed with launching products. https://amzn.to/2wp1Hy7 & https://bit.ly/2G8tQQm